top of page

Hue of a Silent Monologue

Updated: Aug 21, 2023



A sickly-yellow arm of the Sun draws upon my brow. It beckons me to my August window, clinging closely to the eggshell-plaster draped over walls cradling the corners of my liquid room. My eyes drift over languid shapes coddled by the sweet, sickening scent of the night.

Somewhere, in that far distance, a single lamp is lit; and within that damp pale yellow, there is a song. 

It is hushed, yet it is vivid. And it echoes of the quiet laughter of secret trysts.


I am always swimming within that room somewhere, where the light dances across the shadow-stained white of the ceiling, from the east to the distant west, and the air hangs low with honeyed languor.

I lean to kiss the little sailor boy, pale and shivering upon the tide; and my heart grows heavy with the stillness of words. 


I am somewhere underneath the rubble of his paper ship; drowning, dreaming. The rush of water is deafening within my ears. It gathers as a crowd beneath the basin at the foot of my throat; a meeting of the waters.

It is silent, and so very blue. Ah, there goes my heart, muffled by the fog of his sleepy evening laughter.



I am a ghost swimming within a clear basin. My wet hair sticks to the dampness of the light tracing along my neck. And in the cracks and curves along the sink, the yellow fog melts and crustily sticks. The yolk hanging from off the ceiling settles over the berth of my eyes. The shower cleanses the man made of air, and I am melting.



My silent Thought sobs to himself. He shivers at the base of my throat. My palms press their heels upon my eyes to carry his lake of sorrow. He sits away from me, behind a television screen, and he cannot see the words. And he squints and he squints at the unclear puddled pixels, until his eyes are closed and he sobs once more. And into his belly the tears go.



Ever so tired am I of you,

Yet my heart never seems to tire of the blue,

My poor heart all steeped in sorrow


Perhaps it would like for me to swim again

Within that distant eastern room somewhere

But here am I; silent; in the blue where I am permitted to be.




~jhinuk

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
© Copyright
bottom of page