top of page

The Morning is only an Hour Away



Where would you build your home?

Mine,

In a heart upon a hill

And so with every beat

I would find a new room

To its left

With distant yellow bulbs

That you could see

Through the window

Once it befriends the curtains,

And crusty yolk walls and basins

Covered in paint;

Crimson and vermillion

That would be smeared

Upon my hands and beneath my feet

And all across the floorboards

Would it spread;


Then I shall apologise

To myself

Again

And spend the night upon the swing

From the fairytale left open on

My childhood bed

Encasing walls coloured

Up to just below

The knees,

And I will be upset

And I will apologise


I went to the riverside yesterday

Barely evening;

It was warm

But first

It was cold

And the air from the wooden boat clung to me

Like a very very heavy coat;


The river stung and then cooled

I could feel its soft breathing

Against the cups of my ears

As it wetted my skin

Though,

My hands grow damp every so often

And then they tell my feet to do the same

Then my feet nudge my toes and they dig themselves into the earth

If only to avoid the water;

For the tips of my toes are the only thing that aren't submerged

In the branches and in the clouds

within the river

How wonderful it is!

When the forest seeps through my chest

All the way across

To the melted bolts that shape my spine;

All until

Dawn touched my forehead

And felt a fever

Underneath all of my

Shivering



I am stitched from the violet grass

That helms the meadow

Which, last night

Was in your dreams;

And so I shall grow

Ever so old

There;

As old as the steel pots

And steel pans

That carry my grandfather's initials up on their noses

Ah,

There comes sweet Heartache

And there he goes;

Flocks to the paper boat

There

With the soldier and the ballerina

There he sails upon my river

There

He floats and floats

And floats

Away







*the telephone rings in its simmering sing-song voice

as the kettle boils over and over

and the smell doesn't come

ah, there someone has picked up the phone*


*”yes?” says the cool metal of the receiver*


_____ _______ ______ ___ ___ ___ ____


*“And,

Where did you build your home?”*





*beep. beep. beep. beep. beep. beep. beep. beep. beep*






~jhinuk

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
© Copyright
bottom of page