top of page

The Sea is in Love with the Moon

Updated: Jun 19, 2023


My heart,

It carries the hem of yours

Threaded to its cottony pillow

Where it teaches my skin its name, and yours;


I love you as the sand does love for the sea to wash over it

And protects the foam of its tender sighs,

While the sea blankets scars on its yellow-orange grains

That only yesterday we were buried in


That is what you are to me,

My heart buried in the sea;




And my heart,

It cries for you

As the Moon does cry for the Tide

Far far away from you and me

Though we did hear them that night on the roof, didn't we?


Beep.


Hello?

Yes, I'm calling for Spring?

May I speak with them?

The Telephone Man exhaled half-heartedly

Please hold.


Beep.Beep.Beep.Beep.Beep


Hello?


Hello darling,

Let us travel to Saturn, shall we?

Is that alright?

Is it alright with you?


Yes of course my love

We must heal him


Beep.Beep.Beep.Beep.Beep




I am ever so tired of you my dear. Since that lazy afternoon when Saturn was crying at my doorstep; drowning in himself on the fuzzy doormat.

'Welcome Home’


But I simply cannot leave you be.



Perhaps it would be easier

If we danced here;

On either side of the window pane

It hasn’t been cleaned since the rains you know,

No one’s bothered to

It has been months now



And here I lie

To you and next to you,

Waiting for the rain,

So that we might wash ourselves away

Though I know not what gives me the right to,

I want to float aimlessly in the orbits that surround you


The little sailor in the distance has been getting bigger

I have seen him grow everyday

But now he is almost kissing me

almost;

I am ashamed




The Moon has left me alone tonight,

Despite all of our promises,

Here I sleep by the light of your eyes

Upon the tired, marble floor of our home




~jhinuk


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
© Copyright
bottom of page